Zombies!

Looking back through past posts, I realized that I went from saying “If you see me run, something’s probably chasing me,” to identifying myself as a runner. What changed? Well, I’m currently preparing for the zombie apocalypse.

I heard about Run for Your Lives, a 5K zombie obstacle course, and it sounded like a blast. And, I’ve never run a race before, so what better way to start than with one that has obstacles *and* zombies? I’ve probably taken complete leave of my senses, but it sounded like fun.

So I’ve been running to get ready for it. And I discovered the Zombies, Run! app. It’s an immersive cross between an audio-book and an exercise game. The zombie apocalypse has happened, and one of the important jobs in post-apocalyptic society is the runner. Scavenging for food, electronics and medical supplies, distracting zombies, running rescue missions. The game alternates with your playlist, so you get a snippet of story, a song, and another snippet of story. The story is well written, and the voice acting is good. It alternates between being hilarious and depressing (well, society did collapse and the dead are shambling around feeding on the flesh of the living). Using the app at night is particularly creepy.

It also has chases, where you randomly get chased by zombies. That tends to work best with GPS, and I only have an iPod, not an iPhone, so I haven’t experienced the joy of having the walking dead motivate me to run intervals, but it’s a really cool idea.

I may have to retire my, “If I’m running, look behind me to see what’s chasing me,” line. We’ll see if I want to keep running once I get tired of the game (yes, I’ve already run out of story missions…an update is apparently in the works, though). Either way, I’m having fun now.

One thought on “Zombies!

  1. JeninCanada says:

    Sounds awesome! This *might* motivate me to jog. I’ll check it out. Have fun!

Leave a Reply

