I Stand With Fat Kids and With Planned Parenthood

Susan G. Komen pulled its funding from Planned Parenthood “because they’re under Congressional investigation.” Never mind that it’s not a legitimate investigation so much as a “Let’s shut down PP by any means necessary” witch hunt. And also never mind that Susan G. Komen grants go to cancer screeings, not abotions, and that Planned Parenthood is the largest provider of women’s health services in the country.

People have been coming up with new Susan G. Komen slogans on Twitter, and a lot of them are hilarious, frequently “in the I must laugh so I don’t cry or hit someone” sense. My favorite so far is “Does this coat hanger come in pink?”

I signed a petition, gave some money to PP, and am adding Susan G. Komen to the list of groups I won’t support. (It’s a short and esoteric list, including Chik-Fil-A and, as much as is practical, the nation of China.)

Speaking of petitions and donations, the awesome Ragen Chastain is *this freaking close* to posting a billboard in Atlanta to answer the hateful “Strong4Life” campaign. Donating to this campaign helps tell bullied fat kids that they’re not alone, unloved, and broken. We stand with them.

Marilyn Wann is also running I Stand Against Weight Bullying. Send her a picture and a slogan, and you get a nifty poster to spread hither and yon to show your support for kids of all shapes and sizes.

4 thoughts on “I Stand With Fat Kids and With Planned Parenthood

  1. erylin says:

    “I signed a petition, gave some money to PP, and am adding Susan G. Komen to the list of groups I won’t support. (It’s a short and esoteric list, including Chik-Fil-A and, as much as is practical, the nation of China.)”

    Thats my exact list too! except i bought like an extra case of girl scout cookies with the christian “girls scouts promote gayness” idiocracy that went around the interwebs recently.

  2. Jen says:

    Two great examples of activism! I’m loving these. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Um….I think you didn’t do a very good job of linking these two topics.

    • KellyK says:

      Um…okay.

      They’re two causes I’m involved with at the moment. There wasn’t necessarily intended to be any link aside from that.

Leave a Reply

