Go, Paula!

Anthony Bourdain apparently needs a massive reality check. He called Paula Deen “the most dangerous person in America.” Funny, not who I’d have picked. There are murderers, rapists, drug dealers, terrorists, corrupt politicians, insurance company execs letting people die to improve their bottom line, drunk drivers, and your Enemy #1 is a lady with a cooking show? Because clearly all those other ways of dying or being harmed pale in comparison to the scary, scary fat.

Fortunately, she can give as good as she gets. She said she didn’t know if it was a “publicity thing” or if “someone had peed in his cereal.” She also told him to get a life.

I have peaches I want to do something with–I may just try out Paula’s peach cobbler recipe. If you guys don’t hear from me, you can assume it killed me.

Hat tip to Life on Fats

13 thoughts on “Go, Paula!

  1. fatvegancommie says:

    i have a lot of dislike for Bourdain. In one of his books he described vegetarians and vegans as cry-baby elitists would don’t know anything about food and whose love of animals is fake. He is an asshole six different ways

    • KellyK says:

      Wow. That’s a nasty and ignorant thing to say. I think he’s a lot like Gordon Ramsey or Simon Cowell—he gets attention by being an obnoxious twerp.

  2. Meowser says:

    Anthony Bourdain, role model for healthy living. BAHAHAHAHAHA…

    Most of Paula Deen’s recipes do nothing for me, other than her cornbread dressing (which I recently managed to adapt to a gluten-free version, quite smashingly). I hate mayonnaise and pimentos something fierce. But maybe I can find something of hers I can make, just to give her props. Go Paula!

    • KellyK says:

      Wow, I didn’t know about all the drugs and drinking and smoking. But he’s thinnish, so he must be a paragon of health.

  3. I have to say I LOVE Anthony Bourdain. He’s so rough around the edges. That being said – he can’t talk about healthy eating at all. I watched this episode with a sandwich called Three Little Pigs. Made it at home and even though it was sized down – couldn’t eat more than half. He is the king of bad habits – but I still love him.

  4. Patsy Nevins says:

    Oh, yes, Anthony Bourdain, who chain-smokes, drinks, etc., & it is a general, all-purpose asshole & who cannot think for himself so he just accepts that people are fat because of what we eat, fat is unhealthy, etc. I won’t watch his show, I watch little tv, but I have seen clips when my son had the tv on of Bourdain eating rich, fatty foods & some disgusting ‘native’ foods & apparently putting away twice as much food as I ordinarily do. He seems totally clueless that he is likely drinking & smoking himself to death & that he is likely thin because of genetics, not his behavior. I am fed up with most tv chefs, but I do like Paula a lot & I always have hated it when she does a show which indicates that her producers & the network obviously twisted her arm to cook something ‘healthy’.

  5. O.C. says:

    Ooh… I see an organized protest here, cooking a Paula recipe and posting a picture! I haven’t made much of hers, but her “Not your momma’s banana pudding” was HUGELY successful when I made it for a potluck.

    • KellyK says:

      Ha! That could be fun. I don’t think I’ve made much, if anything, of hers either. But if I make the peach cobbler, I’m definitely taking a picture!

  6. Rubyfruit says:

    I…kind of want to laugh at the proclamation that, of all the TV chefs ever, Paula Deen is “the most dangerous person in America”. She’s…totally awesome.

    No seriously, I kind of want to laugh, but someone probably believes this to be true and then I get all sad.

  7. […] myself scrolling through my Google feed-reader and found a few things of note.  I love the bit on Paula Deen responding to the very bitter Bordain’s nasty comments on her and her cooking. But even that […]

  8. […] I posted that if you didn’t hear from me, the eeeeeeeeevil peach cobbler I made from Paula Deen’s […]

  9. amarilla says:

    It seems like all FA people believe they’re genetically destined to be fat and that diet and exercise have no bearing on their size. I would like for some person to at least try to explain rising obesity rates in the past 30 years from an FA perspective.

    Also, I’ve yet to see a post on any FA blog that doesn’t use the false dichotomy of overeating vs. Starvation/malnutrition. There is something between stretching your stomach out and starving yourself, and if you don’t gorge yourself at every meal, you’ll find it takes less food to fill you up anyway.

    • KellyK says:

      Hi, thanks for commenting, and welcome to my blog!

      I think you’re pretty heavily misinterpreting a couple basic ideas of FA. First, it’s not that diet and exercise have no bearing on size or that everyone who’s fat is genetically destined to be. Personally, I might never have gotten fat if my hypothyroid hadn’t gone untreated for as long as it did, or if I hadn’t bounced back and forth between dieting and rebound overeating as a teenager.

      What FA *does* argue is that the effect isn’t as exact or as dramatic as people who advocate dieting make it out to be. It’s commonly said that you can lose weight by cutting out soda, or by waking 20 minutes a day, when it’s often much more than that. There are people who can exercise four hours a day and eat 1200 calories a day and not reach the “normal” BMI range. (There are also people who seem to never stop eating and yet are rail-thin. People vary. A lot.) It’s also entirely possible to plateau or even regain while you’re still on a reduced calorie diet.

      Additionally, where on earth are you getting that FA advocates overeating? Are you just assuming that we’re fat, ergo, any eating we do is overeating? Or that eating that isn’t strictly controlled by external measures like calorie counts must be “too much”? I’m sure I sound snarky but really, “gorge yourself at every meal”? Do you know anyone who does this, even people who actually have binge eating disorder?

      There absolutely *is* something between starving and overeating, and it’s called eating normally. Which is actually what most FA bloggers who talk at all about nutrition recommend. (The Fat Nutritionist, on my blog roll, has lots of info on what that looks like.)

      Of course gorging yourself is a bad idea. (Though it doesn’t necessarily stretch your stomach long-term unless you do it all the freaking time–like if you were a competitive eater preparing for a hot-dog eating contest or something.*) It screws up your sense of satiety, and it makes you feel like crap. When you see any FA blog actually suggest gorging as a good idea, please send me a quote and a link, because I haven’t seen it.

      For me personally, the way to avoid eating more than I want or need is to eat a variety of foods I like, at regular times, and to give myself permission to eat what I want. When I was cutting large swaths of food out of my diet (specifically, doing South Beach) or counting calories, I would eventually feel this deep, nagging sense of hunger that nothing would satisfy. I could be physically full but still feel hungry. Especially if I used the “drink lots of water so you feel full” trick. The sensation of having a full stomach and still feeling like you need food is really unpleasant.

      If you personally find that you feel you need less food when you eat less, okay. That has never been how it has worked for me. Like I said, people are different.

      *http://www.chow.com/food-news/53701/does-your-stomach-really-expand-if-you-eat-more/

Leave a Reply

