Willpower is not all it’s cracked up to be.

So, I’ve been wanting to exercise more, but foot/ankle issues have made that tricky. I’d really like to swim, but there are two places to swim near me. One has highly inconvenient hours. (Early morning and afternoon only during the week, with a couple 8 PM to 9:30 weeknights, and then Saturday and Sunday afternoons.) The other is only sort of indoors. That is, they have an inflatable roof/walls that goes on in the winter. I was baptized there a few years back, in the early spring, and I remember it being ridiculously cold.

With that, I found myself wishing I had the willpower to just deal with the cold, or to drag myself out really early, swim, and work late because I started later than my usual eight or eight-thirty. Realistically, though, I just don’t see that happening.

But when I feel like a ridiculous slacker for not being willing to just “toughen up” and “make the sacrifice,” I remember that willpower is kind of a two-edged sword. Basically, willpower is what allows you to ignore your body’s signals that something is wrong–pain, hunger, thirst, exhaustion, discomfort. There are times when it’s necessary to ignore those things, but it also needs to be worth the price. Whether swimming would be for me, in terms of ankle-friendly cardio, I’m not sure. But when I think of ignoring ankle pain because I “have to” exercise or ignoring hunger because I “have to” lose weight, I’m glad my willpower isn’t infinite. Had I had “more willpower” when I was dieting, I could have screwed myself up pretty badly.

4 thoughts on “Willpower is not all it’s cracked up to be.

  1. I get what you are saying. I say just go with your gut. Sometimes it is better to give your body a rest and sometimes it’s better to get up and just do it. Your gut will tell you.

  2. Slyjinks says:

    Those two swimming pools sound terribly familiar to me… I can’t help but wondering if I’ve accidently stumbled across the blog of someone I know…

    I can’t blame you for not getting up earlier (dear lord, sleep is a big enough commodity as it is), nor for not wanting to deal with the cold. At this point in time, another, perfectly valid option is just, “Hold off a few months and wait for it to warm up.”

    • itsalllissasfault says:

      I can’t help but wondering if I’ve accidently stumbled across the blog of someone I know…

      Yep, you have. Welcome to the party! I take it you found it through the Fatosphere feed?

      I can’t blame you for not getting up earlier (dear lord, sleep is a big enough commodity as it is), nor for not wanting to deal with the cold. At this point in time, another, perfectly valid option is just, “Hold off a few months and wait for it to warm up.”

      Yeah, that’s what I’m thinking. With pool #2, the bubble means it doesn’t even have to be swimming weather, it just has to not be winter.

      • Slyjinks says:

        Yep, I have. Funny thing is, I’m fairly certain I’ve read a few of your blog entries before, but the combination of your text-tone and the description in this one triggered on me. Then I looked over your blog and thought, “Okay. These are WAY too many coincidences.”

Leave a Reply

