How people eat

So, this past weekend, I helped my husband cater a friend’s Christmas party. He’s done feasts in the SCA before, so cooking for twenty-odd people is well within his capabilities. And said friend is an awesome person, who is also paying us, so all good.

We did a fairly standard holiday spread: a honey-glazed ham, roast beef, potatoes both roasted and mashed, baked ziti, homemade rolls, a fruit salad, and cooked broccoli/carrots/cauliflower with Savory Toasted Cheese, an SCA staple. One family member being vegan, we also did a stir fry with tofu, peppers, scallions and broccoli.

We expected the STC to disappear in a flash, but we actually ended up never making a second batch. You know what went over the best, leaving little to no leftovers? The vegan stir fry, the fruit salad, and the mixed veggies.

This seemed a little odd to me, until I realized that this was a Christmas party at the end of the holiday season. After Thanksgiving and Christmas, people are probably pretty well hammed and turkeyed and potatoed out. But fruits and veggies? OMNOMNOM, apparently. Guess people’s food intake really does balance out over time.

3 thoughts on “How people eat

  1. After Thanksgiving and Christmas, people are probably pretty well hammed and turkeyed and potatoed out. But fruits and veggies? OMNOMNOM, apparently. Guess people’s food intake really does balance out over time.

    I TOTALLY AGREE

    (But of course you knew I would!)

    Right now, I’m on a pretty crazy veggie kick, and I am not exactly famous for my love of vegetables. But if it’s dinner, there damn well better be some broccoli or brussels sprouts on the plate. And my husband and I have even been competing for the vegetables, eyeing up each other’s plates to see who got more!

    Christmas and Thanksgiving and all the rich food is delicious. But the aftermath of getting back into lighter, more vegetable-y fare, is just as delicious. If things didn’t change like this, particularly seasonally, think how boring life would be. I love food phases.

  2. Lampdevil says:

    Hah, I’m definitely on the post-holiday GIMME VEGGIES bandwagon. I want broccoli, right now. And spinach. And salad. And grapes, OMG grapes, and…

    It was a very meat-and-sugar filled holiday. I had piles of parties to attend (they roasted a turkey at work! At work! In a portable oven-grill-thingy!) and I spent all of December baking… I was given new pans for Christmas, and do you think I’ve broken them in yet? Nooooooo. Not yet. Not now.

    It makes me smile, to see how my body’s appetite (and the appetites of others) seem to self-regulate over time. And it makes me glad to know that I can trust myself to eat what I need.

Leave a Reply

